another one

An average drunk driver has driven drunk 80 times before first arrest.

Centers for Disease Control. “Vital Signs: Alcohol-Impaired Driving Among Adults — United States, 2010.” Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. October 4, 2011.

 

yep.  I got a second DUI.  this time, however, I don’t remember it at all.

 

Every day in America, another 28 people die as a result of drunk driving crashes.

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration FARS data, 2013.

I don’t know what happened.  I literally blacked out.  I had two beers, was laying on the couch watching Django.  and next thing I knew, I was waking up in a prison cell.

About one-third of all drivers arrested or convicted of drunk driving are repeat offenders.

Fell, Jim. “Repeat DWI Offenders in the United States.” Washington, DC: National Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Traffic Tech No. 85, February 1995.

I don’t drink and drive anymore.  I let others drive even if I’m having just a single glass of wine.  so I don’t know what happened.

Each day, people drive drunk almost 300,000 times, but fewer than 4,000 are arrested.

Federal Bureau of Investigation. “Crime in the United States: 2012.” http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/crime-in-the-u.s/2012/crime-in-the-u.s.-2012/persons-arrested/persons-arrested.

Brian thinks it was the medicine.  the stuff I got for being a sea cucumber.  (oh wait, I never told y’all about that.  well, that’s for another time.)  anyway, he thinks it was the meds.

me?  I think it was inevitable comeuppance.

In 2012, 29.1 million people admitted to driving under the influence of alcohol – that’s more than the population of Texas.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Results from the 2012 National Survey on Drug Use and Health: Summary of National Findings, NSDUH Series H-46, HHS Publication No. (SMA) 13-4795. Rockville, MD: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 2013.

so what am I going to do?

I suppose I’ll stop.

for now at least.

I’ll call the addiction clinic I reached out to a few months back.  I’ll talk to her.

in the meantime, I could really use another drink…..

Recent surveys indicate that non-alcoholic members of families with an alcoholic use ten times as much sick leave as families without alcoholics.  Additionally, 80% of these family members report an impaired ability to perform at work as a result of living with an alcohol abuser or alcoholic.

http://www.about-alcohol-abuse.com/Alcohol_Abuse_Statistics.html

leave your two cents. or three, because I'm poor.

