Choose Your Own Adventure

*ring ring ring*

JAMES:  *picks up phone*  “SLCC Library, James Parker speaking.”

BRIAN:  “it’s Brian.”

JAMES:  “hey.  what’s up?”

BRIAN: “you have your chiropractor appointment today, right?”

JAMES:  “yeah.  why?”

BRIAN: “that means we can’t have lunch today?”

…….

 

WHAT SHOULD HAVE HAPPENED

JAMES:  “well, actually, we get to leave early.  so I’ll have enough time for lunch and still be able to run my errands and go to the chiropractor before my meeting.”

*Brian and James have a wonderful lunch together*

 

WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED

JAMES:  “well, I have time.  but I’m really trying to keep my caloric intake low today, since I’ll be binging for Thanksgiving.  what did you have in mind?”

*Brian and James discuss possibilities for low-calorie lunches; they enjoy themselves*

 

WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED

JAMES:  “no, I guess not.”

BRIAN:  “oh, okay.”

JAMES:  “yeah.”

*awkward silence over the phone*

BRIAN:  “okay, well, I’ll see you later.”

JAMES:  “yeah, later.”

*James gets off work early and has to create excuses to keep avoiding lunch with Brian until her appointment; she experiences guilt and shame and hunger all day*

leave your two cents. or three, because I'm poor.

