“If an adult, undergoing extensive medical treatment for a terminal condition, can choose to end his/her own life at will, why would an adult undergoing daily pain and torment not also deserve that same right?”

an overall great article that made me think a lot about my opinion on this topic….

Uncommon Graces

It was just after Thanksgiving. My head was pounding, and I was freezing as my feet hit the pavement running.

My parents had gone to my grandma’s house for leftover turkey and dressing. I stayed home, eager for the time to myself.

While they were enjoying their family dinner, I took a bottle of Tylenol: 350 capsules. It didn’t help matters much that I had taken a muscle relaxant from my mother’s collection.

I wasn’t suicidal.

I had a migraine from running.

At least, that is the story I told.

By the time my boyfriend found me, my body temperature had dropped, my lips were blue and I was freezing.

I have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).

When I was 15, medical professionals tried to tell me that it was “depressive disorder.” Even then, I knew better.

While on Facebook, some days, just viewing my profile can cost me an…

View original post 828 more words

4 thoughts on “~REBLOGGED~ I Attempted Suicide & I’m Not Sure It Was Wrong

  1. funnily enough, I come from the opposite camp — “do with your own life as you choose”. my only issue is that I usually add “so long as it doesn’t directly harm others”. and it wasn’t until I read your post that I recalled that additive to my saying. so now, I have to reconsider the whole issue.

    it’s annoying (lol), but I’m very grateful to you. thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Believe it or not, I totally get it! If I had it my way, I would have left this blog EXACTLY as I originally wrote it.

    Do you know where it ended then?

    “I’m not sure.”

    And that is the truth. I’m not sure. I don’t think there is an answer. I would lying if I said I don’t still have my bad days, too. Oh, more often than one might imagine.

    But then, people didn’t want to read it or share it. They feared what others would think if they appeared to “support suicide.” It’s a fantastic article, written-well, and even Elite Daily declined because when sent it for edits, I did not have the FLUFFY ending.

    People need fluff.

    The fluff masks the hard shit.

    We don’t want to think about that. It’s annoying. 🙂

    But WE NEED TO! We absolutely need to. Because our failure to think about it, reflects on our future generation and our own children!

    What made me change it?

    I revisited old blogs one night. I’ve only been blogging since May of 2014. But from the very first one, you could tell something had clicked.

    Culture.

    Then, I looked at my daughter she’s one. I began thinking what if she feels hopeless one day, I’ve loved her, given her a great life, but still, she’s hopeless (that happens all the time!), and she sees or remembers my article.

    I wondered if she would decide that it was okay because I didn’t know where I stood!

    I changed my message! Now, I’m taking it viral. (Incase you haven’t seen, check my blog.)

    I don’t know where I stand on the morals and ethic of suicide. I can tell you what is “rational” and logical according to political correctness and human rights. My life is my life. I should get to decide what to do with. I choose life. But I realize that some people don’t want to. They have that right!

    Which is why I had to call my own self to action.

    At the very, very least . . . I could do one small thing for this matter.

    I could tell people that I loved them and they mattered! Any maybe, just maybe, I could make compassion go viral.

    At this point, I should probably thank you for tomorrow’s blog post! ♥

    Like

leave your two cents. or three, because I'm poor.

